Charleston DUI Attorney
Representing Clients Charged with DUI in South Carolina for 13 Years
At Joe Good, Attorney at Law, we help clients navigate the legal system when facing DUI charges. Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime, and it can lead to serious consequences if you aren’t prepared for court. Whether this is your first DUI or you’ve faced charges before, hiring an experienced Charleston DUI attorney can make a huge difference in your case. Attorney Joe Good has served clients throughout South Carolina over the past 13 years. Take charge of your case by putting our team in charge of your DUI defense. We help clients navigate the many types of DUI cases in South Carolina, such as:
- Multiple DUI Offenses
- Drug-Related DUI
- Felony DUI
- Underage DUI
- DMV Administrative Hearings
- DUI with Injury
Multiple DUI Offenses in South Carolina
When a driver faces repeat DUI charges, it can be an uphill battle. A second or subsequent DUI charge can substantially enhance the penalties associated with a conviction. Penalties for a DUI are based on blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and the number of prior DUI offenses on a driver’s record. If a driver has previous DUI charges within the last ten years, there could be serious ramifications and consequences with a new DUI conviction. Even if you didn’t have legal representation in your first DUI case, you must mount a strong legal defense now because multiple DUI offenses on your record can bring serious legal troubles your way. Because penalties increase with each conviction, a client could be facing time behind bars, a suspended license, and serious fines.
Call (843) 773-4443 to schedule a consultation with Joe Good, Attorney at Law, for help in your DUI case. You can’t afford to arrive at court alone.
Drug-Related DUI Driving Laws
A driver in South Carolina can be charged with a DUI if they are stopped for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or an alcohol and drug combo. Drugs or the combination of drugs and alcohol can impair a driver from being able to operate a vehicle safely. South Carolina is an implied consent state, so a driver’s consent to submit to a drug test is presumed because they are driving in a state that presumes consent to testing designed to determine alcohol and drug levels in a driver’s system. Refusing to submit to testing can lead to license suspension and other consequences.
Felony DUI Laws
A driver can be charged with a felony DUI if they cause severe injury, bodily harm, or death to another person while operating a vehicle impaired. An officer at the scene of a DUI incident where the driver is suspected of operating a motor vehicle while impaired, the officer has probable cause to arrest the driver on felony DUI charges if they:
- Are under the influence of alcohol
- Are under the influence of drugs
- Broke traffic laws
- Caused serious bodily injury or death to another party
A driver convicted of felony DUI faces a fine of between $5,100 - $10,100, 30 days to 15 years behind bars, and mandatory use of an anti-DUI device for three years.
Underage DUI Charges
Underage drinking is a serious issue, and the BAC limit for a minor is very low. Any underage driver with a BAC of .02% or above is considered impaired. Underage drivers are not held to the same BAC standard as adult drivers. If an underage driver is found guilty and convicted, penalties range from a 3-month license suspension for a first offense and six months for a second offense. Every driver convicted of an underage DUI must complete an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. Underage DUI cases are not handled in criminal court. They are handled through an administrative hearing with the DMV.
Administrative Hearings for DUI Cases
Understanding what is required in an administrative hiring can be confusing. In addition to criminal charges, drivers arrested on DUI charges also face an administrative hearing. Administrative hearings are separate from any criminal charges. Refusing testing in South Carolina during a lawful DUI stop can lead to a driver's license suspension. According to South Carolina Code § 56-5-2951, refusing a breath test or receiving .15 or higher when tested means your license must be suspended by the DMV. Charged drivers have 30 days from their arrest to challenge the automatic suspension of their driver's license. Depending on the details of your case, you could receive a temporary license while you wait for your hearing date.
Call Joe Good, Attorney at Law at (843) 773-4443 to schedule a consultation on your DUI case in Charleston. Don't arrive to court unprepared and alone. Let us help you fight these charges.